The Great Clark Weber

Last week, an honor that was long overdue was given to a man who, in part, introduced me to what would become the career choice I have exercised (and one that I think sometimes should have been exorcised) for decades now.  It was as a preschooler, kindergartner and first grader that I heard the work of the great disc jockeys of WLS Radio in Chicago.  One of them was a voice that resonated through our farmhouse and barn weekday mornings during most of my grade school years.  That voice was the great Clark Weber.  Last week, on June 16, Clark Weber was inducted into the Illinois Broadcasters Association Hall of Fame.

Clark Weber was wonderful as an on-air talent playing the rock of the ’60’s and early ’70’s, as a talk show host, voicing his own syndicated feature called “A Senior Moment”, and as a great storyteller and entertainer at a live event he presented at a library in Vernon Hills, Illinois.  Clark Weber was a genial and kind man when I first had an opportunity to meet him face-to-face for the first time after admiring his work for 40 years.  He was a giving man, allowing me to twice interview him for radio programs that I hosted…both interviews, by the way, helping to earn awards of excellence from the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association.

Clark Weber officially retired from all of his work pursuits in May of this year.  A lot of people like me who are working in radio I know want to thank him for the contribution and inspiration that he provided to our lives and careers.  I am eternally grateful to have offered him my thanks for that personally, and I wish Mr. Weber nothing but happiness and health in his retirement.

Prior to Mr. Weber’s induction into the IBA Hall of Fame, longtime Chicago radio personality Rich Renik (who I remember from his days when Chicago’s WMAQ was a country radio station) put together a video tribute to honor and salute the career of Clark Weber.  That video is featured above this passage.

Leave a Reply

